Basics of Pachanga ~ Part 03

Essence of Time & Day in one's life and the world of Occult Science, especially in Vedic Astrology. In this article, I will be covering the basics of Pachanga.

As we all know, time value is the most important in life. Everyone has to respect and understand the time value because time can respond to evil and good. And often we get to hear the following phrases & idioms:

  • It is all about the right timing
  • When the time is right, everything will fall in place.
  • It will help if you wait for the right time.
  • A stitch in time saves nine

Be it the world of sports or comedy or entertainment, and it is all about the ” Perfect Timing.”

Common Man measures time by the hours, days, years, but in the world of occult science, be it Vedic Astrology or western world astrology or Tarot card reading, or Angelic reading, timing is quintessential, and the most common questions seekers always ask is “When?”

When will I find true love? When will I get married?
When will I find a job? When will I have children?
When is the Good Time? When is The Right Time?

People want to know when something will happen, and they look to occult experts to predict the timing of these critical events accurately. However, for the Astrologer or any mysterious expert, timing an event can be incredibly daunting and challenging! Hence, in this post, I'll explain How understanding Pachanga, an ancient Indian time calculation technique, helps you pinpoint when an event occurs. Therefore, the study and understanding of Pachanga are essential, and let us now get the basics correct.

Panchanga an ancient Indian almanac

Pachanga is more about the five elements it is made of and just not the Navagraha's positioning. Panchanga is about the grahas made in the sky. It directly correlates with our past karmas, and the soul has to wait for a particular time to take birth or depart; Panchanga makes a horoscope based on planets in a unique sign or Nakshatra.

What is Panchanga?

Panchanga is the astrological almanac based on the ancient Hindu Vedic calculation system, learned, practiced, and followed in India since ancient times by the pundits, rishis, brahmans, and gurus.

Traditionally Panchanga is used for finding Muhurta (right time for doing something) and for specific evaluation of auspiciousness of any moment in time. But in Jyotish Veda (Vedic astrology), the study of timing is essential in every aspect, be it analysis of Rashi Chakra (natal horoscope) or Muhurta Muhurtah or mahurat. The study of panchanga is a part of Vedic astrology, dedicated to time calculation for the planning of actual events in life, Prashna (horary astrology of finding an answer to a question asked at a particular time), and Gochara (analysis of Grahas' (planets) transits).

The word “Pancha” is arrived from ancient Sanskrit as “five,” and the word “Anga” means “limb” or part. Panchanga's principles are on the interaction of Surya (Sun) and Chandra (Moon). Every Day this interaction uniquely affects each man's life. For everybody who's studying Jyotisha Veda, Panchanga can become a handy tool, especially in those moments, when it's necessary to see circumstances, created by Surya and Chandra, its auspiciousness, as well as the fact how hard the person will have to work in these particular circumstances to realize the potential that lies in his horoscope. Panchangas are also published in English and are known as Ephemeris.

Five Angas are five primary energies or Aura of Surya and Chandra that set up the system of Panchanga as below:

  1. Vaara: solar Day, based on the time of Sunrise;
  2. Tithi: lunar day;
  3. Karana: half of the lunar Day;
  4. Yoga: every Day's unique placement of Surya concerning Chandra;
  5. Nakshatra: lunar constellation, which Chandra occupies.

Understanding & Visualising Panchanga

The complete understanding of Vedic Jyotisha (Panchanga Astrology) is based on panchanga as it serves as the DNA of your Chart. Panchanga is nothing but the quality of time Brahma, the creator, has created you and the particular time the creator decides to take your soul from your body. In this series, we will be going through the various aspects of Muhurta. And in particular, the concept of Varesh and Horas.

To understand Panchanga, you must understand the concept of worshipping Pancha Devta in the early hours of the Day and its benefits. Many Jyotish and occult practitioners will never share the importance of this pooja and paying obeisance during your pooja rituals to the panch devata in chronological order and why is this order essential?

Now let us understand the chronology of the order of Pancha Devata Pooja,

    • The beginning is always praying, invoking, and paying respects to your guru as it is known Gurura Brahma and Gurura Vishnu mantra (whoever is your guru in whichever faith you believe in). गुरुर ब्रह्मा, गुरुर विष्णु, गुरुर देवो महेश्वरा गुरुर साक्षात परब्रह्म, तस्मै श्री गुरुवे नमः
    • The next in the order is to invoke Lord Ganesha the Vighnaharta, the one who is attributed to by the Prithvi tattva, one of the five elements of the human body
    • The next in the order is agni pooja related to the Surya, and the best way to invoke lord Surya is by chanting the Gayatri Mantra and performing pranayama (control of prana the breath, the shvasa the vitality)
    • The next in the order is Jala tattva, The Water element, pray to the Devi in the form of Durga or Maa Lakshmi

  • The next in the order is The Lord Vishnu, The Supreme, the sustainer of this whole brahmanda, the lord of the universe, the lord of sky element primarily associated with Jupiter
  • Finally, invoking The Rudra, the Vayu, the prana, the upholder of Shiva, Rudra means “One who eradicates problems from its roots.”

In our following Insight number Two, we will explore the importance and meaning of all the five Angas, the elements which form The Panchanga

Please subscribe to my channel or click on the link at the end of this article for detailed knowledge.

Leave a comment